Handmade in Germany! What would Philipp Bazlen have said after he founded his company more than a hundred years ago? Perhaps he would have said, “What else should I work with but with my hands? And where else should I work but in my home country?”


What was taken for granted in the year 1899 has become uncommon by 2015. Leather goods handmade in Germany? Yes, it can be done. When we think of our grandfather, we are proud we have successfully managed to preserve his heritage. Our family is committed to carry on his tradition. As for the future, we’re confident to we are moving in the right direction and will continue forward. 

1890
1899 Philipp Bazlen founded a Saddlery in Metzingen producing leather articles for horses; bridles, reins, and harnesses. But there was also a market in the industrial field at that time as driving belts for machines were made from leather.

1930
1935 The company employs between 15 and 30 workers. During the war years, Philipp Bazlen passed on the management of the saddlery to his son, Max, who opened a shop in Metzingen specializing in upholstery, wallpaper supplies, and leather goods in 1949.

1970
1975 Gerhard Bazlen achieved his master craftsman qualification. At only 20 years of age he was the youngest fine bag craftsman in Germany. 1976 Max Bazlen senior handed the company management over to his sons Max and Gerhard. The brothers expanded the business to produce fashionable belts for men and women. The first rivets were used at this time, purely for embellishment and decoration.

1980
1983 The belts of Bazlen turn out to be a huge hit. Sales success meant the company now needed its own distribution company, the BGM Mode-Accessories GmbH, as well as a new business premises in Christian-Völter Street in Metzingen. 1984 Bazlen had the idea early of starting a factory shop and opened a retail outlet in Metzingen. 1986 The company moved to its current premises in Carl-Zeiss Street in Metzingen.

1990
1994 The office building is expanded with the addition of 2 stories. 1996 The company became a licensed partner with one of the most successful German fashion brands, Tom Tailor. The cooperation of both companies was and continues to be extraordinarily successful. 1998 Bazlen focuses exclusively on retail in the successful store outlet and closes the upholstery business.

2000
2007 The company is represented at all relevant fashion fairs in Germany in Cologne, Dusseldorf, Munich, and Berlin. The export business continues to develop.
2008 Together with the Munich-based distribution experts fashion agency Hoferer, Bazlen forges into the area of high fashion and creates the brand b.belt.

2010
2010 Bazlen enjoys 4000 business customers and more than hundred - thousands potential private customers. The company purchases a neighboring piece of land to allow for further expansion.
2011 The company grows and welcomes its 100th worker into the team.
2013 Five years after its foundation b.belt can be purchased in 1300 retail stores.

2015
Today, b.belts are highly valued around the world. The extra-soft, casual rivet belts by b.belt combine the latest trends with genuine high quality German artisanship. Belts by b.belt can now be found at prestigious addresses in Paris, New York, and even in St. Barths.

2016
Development of a further market. b.belts are also find now down down! Successful establishment of the b.belt collections in Australia.

Handmade in Germany! Was wohl Philipp Bazlen dazu gesagt hätte, als er unser Unternehmen vor über hundert Jahren gründete? Handmade in Germany? Vielleicht hätte er gesagt: „Womit soll ich denn sonst arbeiten – als mit meinen Händen? Und wo soll ich denn sonst arbeiten – als hier in meiner Heimat?“


Was im Jahr 1899 selbstverständlich erschien, ist im Jahr 2013 selten geworden. Lederwaren? In Handarbeit? In Deutschland? Ja, das geht. Wenn wir an unseren Großvater denken, sind wir stolz, dass es uns gelungen ist, sein Erbe zu erhalten. Als Familie fühlen wir uns gemeinsam seiner Tradition verpflichtet. Und die Zukunft? Wenn man weiß, dass man den richtigen Weg geht, kann man ihr gelassen entgegen sehen.

1890
1899 Philipp Bazlen gründet in Metzingen eine Sattlerei und produziert Lederartikel für Pferde – Zaumzeug, Zügel und Gurte. Aber auch im Bereich der Industrie findet sich ein Markt: Transmissionsriemen von Maschinen bestanden damals aus Leder.

1930
1935 Das Unternehmen beschäftigt zwischen 15 und 30 Mitarbeiter. Während der Kriegsjahre übergibt Philipp Bazlen die Geschäftsleitung der Sattlerei an seinen Sohn Max. Der eröffnet 1949 in Metzingen ein Fachgeschäft für Polsterei, Tapezierbedarf und Lederwaren.

1970
1975 Gerhard Bazlen besteht seine Meisterprüfung. Mit gerade mal 20 Jahren ist er der jüngste Feintäschnermeister in Deutschland. 1976 Max Bazlen senior übergibt die Leitung des Unternehmens an seine Söhne Max und Gerhard. Die Brüder erweitern den Geschäftsbereich und produzieren modische Gürtel für Damen und Herren. Während dieser Zeit werden bei Bazlen die ersten Nieten gesetzt, die nur als Schmuck und Verzierung dienen.

1980
1983 Die Gürtel aus dem Hause Bazlen entwickeln sich zum Renner. Der Verkaufserfolg macht die Gründung einer eigenen Vertriebsgesellschaft nötig, der BGM Mode-Accessories GmbH. Und den Bezug neuer Geschäftsräume in der Christian-Völter Straße in Metzingen. 1984 Bazlen beschäftigt sich sehr früh mit dem Thema Fabrikverkauf und eröffnet in Metzingen ein Store-Outlet.
1986 Das ganze Unternehmen zieht um, in das bis heute genutzte Firmengelände in der Carl-Zeiss Straße in Metzingen.

1990
1994 erhält das Bürogebäude zwei weitere Etagen. 1996 Mit der Marke Tom Tailor kommt eines der erfolgreichsten deutschen Modeunternehmen als Lizenzpartner dazu. Die Kooperation beider Unternehmen ist bis heute außerordentlich erfolgreich. 1998 Bazlen konzentriert sich in Sachen Einzelhandel auf den erfolgreichen Store-Outlet und schließt das Polstereifachgeschäft.

2000
2007 Das Unternehmen ist auf allen relevanten Modemessen in Deutschland vertreten, in Köln, Düsseldorf, München und Berlin. Ausbau des Exportgeschäfts.
2008: Gemeinsam mit den Vetriebsexperten der Münchner Modeagentur Hoferer stößt Bazlen in den Bereich der High-Fashion vor: Die Marke b.belt entsteht.

2010
2010 Bazlen freut sich über seinen 4000. Geschäftskunden und über hundert-tausende potentieller Privatkunden. Das Unternehmen kann das Nachbargrundstück erwerben, was weiteres Wachstum ermöglicht.
2011 Die Firma wächst und kann den 100. Mitarbeiter im Team willkommen heißen.
2013 Fünf Jahre nach Gründung gibt es b.belt in 1300 Shops zu kaufen.

2015
Inzwischen sind die b.belts auch international hoch geschätzt. Die supersoften, lässigen Nietengürtel von b.belt, die die neuesten Trends mit echter deutscher Wert- und Handwerkskunst vereinen, findet man jetzt bei den ersten Adressen in Paris, New York und sogar auf St. Barth.

2016
Erschließung eines weiteren Markts. b.belts sind jetzt auch down under zu finden! Erfolgreiche Etablierung der b.belt Kollektionen in Australien.